Help!

/ Help! #1  

stoichiometry

Tractor
f
Hello,

I am looking for the names of small/medium sized, inexpensive, and servicable tractors that would be useful for plowing snow, mowing 5+ acres, and row cultivating a small hobby garden.

I've restored old vehicles (Willy's Jeeps), so I am very comfortable with fixing, welding, and restoring older vehicles.

I guess what I'm getting at is I want are the makes/models of older (re: affordable) serviceable tractor for which parts are still available. I am new to tractors, so I don't really know where to start. [For example do ford 8n's or farmall A's fit this category?]

Kindly,
M

/ Help! #2  
The cheapest would probably be the N-series fords, the TO-fergusons, the farmalls would work as well. I would think the fords & fergusons first. The 3pt hitch wil help make it easier to find mowers and cultivator and such.

Parts are pretty easy to come by on any of those older models. They can be bought pretty cheap, even cheaper if you can and are willing to tinker with them.

/ Help!
The cheapest would probably be the N-series fords, the TO-fergusons, the farmalls would work as well. I would think the fords & fergusons first. The 3pt hitch wil help make it easier to find mowers and cultivator and such.

Parts are pretty easy to come by on any of those older models. They can be bought pretty cheap, even cheaper if you can and are willing to tinker with them.

MFred,

I'm in Northern NY (near Canada), I've checked the local want ads and there seem to be Ford 8/9n's, Fergusen TO-s that are nearly identical (visually anyway) to the fords, several allis B/C's, and Farmall A's, H's, and cubs in my price range.

Besides the 3pt hitch on the N-series and TO-s, is there any reason to consider these over the others?

PS - I enjoy tinkering ...:thumbsup:

Kindly,
Matt

/ Help! #4