6 Volt generator to 12 volt?

/ 6 Volt generator to 12 volt? #1  

Retired Iron Peddler

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L5460HSTC, Kubota RTV 900, JD Z655, JD 345, MM-BF
Does anyone know approximately what it would cost to rebuild a 6-volt DC generator to a 12-volt generator? My old 1950 B F Avery R/MM-BF was originally 6-volt positive ground and I have been running it on 12-volts positive ground for the past 20 years with the 6-volt generator disconnected. I'd been thinking about changing the generator to 12-volts and replacing the old 6-volt cutout with a 12-volt voltage regulator at the same time.

If I replace the generator with an self-regulating alternator, I would have to change the system from positive ground to negative ground and I don't know how that would affect the positive ground starter. Will the starter run in reverse? Changing the ignition coil/distributor to negative ground isn't a problem for me.

Rebuilding a generator will keep the tractor looking more like an original... except for the 12-volt battery in the battery box.

Bill

/ 6 Volt generator to 12 volt? #2  
It is about $120 if I remember. I decided to keep mine 6volt but looked into the 12 volt rebuild.

/ 6 Volt generator to 12 volt? #3  
Does anyone know approximately what it would cost to rebuild a 6-volt DC generator to a 12-volt generator? My old 1950 B F Avery R/MM-BF was originally 6-volt positive ground and I have been running it on 12-volts positive ground for the past 20 years with the 6-volt generator disconnected. I'd been thinking about changing the generator to 12-volts and replacing the old 6-volt cutout with a 12-volt voltage regulator at the same time.

If I replace the generator with an self-regulating alternator, I would have to change the system from positive ground to negative ground and I don't know how that would affect the positive ground starter. Will the starter run in reverse? Changing the ignition coil/distributor to negative ground isn't a problem for me.