What purpose narrow wheels vs wide spaced wheels?

/ What purpose narrow wheels vs wide spaced wheels? #1  

SCDolphin

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L5240: Craftsman GT6500
I am new to the older antique tractors. Can someone explain why the early tractors had the two front wheels placed next to each other vs the later model tractors with the front wheels same with as the back tires. What are the pros and cons.

Thanks

/ What purpose narrow wheels vs wide spaced wheels? #2  
Early models had the 'tricycle' narrow front ends for what was called 'row crops'. Also, easier to turn sharper at the ends of rows for planting, cultivating, and harvesting crops.

Wider front ends were referred to as 'standard', and usually were on larger tractors.

Not sure how 'earlier' and 'later' fits in to your question or an answer, as the old Waterloo Boy, for example was wide front, and now most tractors sold it appears to be wide front also. In between, narrow fronts and wide fronts were available.

/ What purpose narrow wheels vs wide spaced wheels? #3  
Our first tractors were all rowcrops. We bought and AC/WD with a "mounted" cornpicker, the nose cone was inline with the tractor and the cutters were on either side, thus no room for the tires on a wide frontend. The same held true for the mounted culavator. Of course they were only two row implements. One point worth noting, the wide frontends were a lot more stable on a hill side. Steve

/ What purpose narrow wheels vs wide spaced wheels? #4  
Some slightly misleading info so far.... A "row-crop" tractor can have a wide front end also... Row-crop tractors have adjustable width front (in some cases) and rear wheels to accomodate various row width's in various crops.

The "narrow front"/"tricycle front" was to accomodate mounted corn pickers, but was quite handy when cultivating.

Wide front ends, as long as they are adjustable width, will work in all respects EXCEPT the mounted pickers.