MF165 quality?

/ MF165 quality? #1  

sa1765

i've been browsing the market for a used tractor in the 50 or so hp range and the mf165 is what i keep looking for over any jd, ford, international. they seem to be priced a few dollars lower than the others when comparing the same features: diesel, decent tires, decent body. i've read several posts about the mf135 being a great tractor but have yet to read anything on here (good or bad) about the 165, is there a reason for that?

/ MF165 quality? #2  
The size of the 135 was a lot more popular. The 165 is almost the exact same tractor with better brakes.

/ MF165 quality? #3  
First let me say that I am NO expert, But I have been told that the two best tractors MASSEY ever made were the 135 & 165 , so you may be looking for a winner... /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Good Hunting..

/ MF165 quality? #4  
   / MF165 quality? #5  
The only problems I've seen with the 165 or any MF is with the multi power option. When these units get a lot of hours/wear they tend to leak oil from the transmission in to the clutch area. If I remember right there's a hollow shaft used for the multi power units. That's whare the oil comes by once this shaft and seals wear. Other than that the MF of that time were some real tough tractors. We ran the 135 and 150 here. The 150 has the same engine as the 135 but on a larger frame with more weight. Great tractors but always had brake problems on those models. The tractors you're looking at may not have multi-power. One other - with multi-power is you can't roll the tractor down a hill or pull it to start the engine. It will also free wheel down hill with multi-power.

/ MF165 quality? #6  
<font color="blue"> with multi-power is you can't roll the tractor down a hill or pull it to start the engine. It will also free wheel down hill with multi-power. </font>
That is only on the low side.

/ MF165 quality? #7  
On the high side it will not free wheel down a hill.