Ford 801 Stalling problem

/ Ford 801 Stalling problem #1  

Beamer63

Tractor
Ford 2000 1969
I have a 1963 Ford 801 Powermaster. It likes to stall when it gets hot. I am thinking vapor lock but am not sure. If it is I am trying to figure out a way to fix it. The gas line does run directly next to the engine. Any help would be appreciated.

/ Ford 801 Stalling problem
I have a 1963 Ford 801 Powermaster. It likes to stall when it gets hot. I am thinking vapor lock but am not sure. If it is I am trying to figure out a way to fix it. The gas line does run directly next to the engine. Any help would be appreciated.

/ Ford 801 Stalling problem #3  
Next time it stalls, pull the plug on the carb bowl and see if there is fuel. Also check spark.

Might be tank vacume too.

Soundguy

/ Ford 801 Stalling problem #4  
Next time it stalls, pull the plug on the carb bowl and see if there is fuel. Also check spark.

Might be tank vacume too.

Soundguy

/ Ford 801 Stalling problem #5  
Do as Soundguy says, crack carb bowl drain, if no fuel, crack fuel tank cap, listen for pressuer sound, that could be vaporlock.Also ck sediment bowl an d screen and strainer in fuel tank tap for being plugged. If problem is no spark, could be coil or condensor gone bad. Will tractor readily restart or does it need to set. Does problem occur more in hot weather,under heavy load and low tank fuel level,these conditions favor vaporlock/fuel "boiling" in Fords of this vintage.Is the guard between the muffler and fuel tank intact,and is fuel line run above this guard? If vapor lock is a persistant problem you mauy need to reroute fuel line and extend it out a little further from the muffler. HTH JK

/ Ford 801 Stalling problem #6