Opinions welcome. Hobart Stickmate LX AC/DC

/ Opinions welcome. Hobart Stickmate LX AC/DC #11  
I found a near new one of these for sale in my area for about 60% the cost of new with a couple extras. What do you guys think? How does this compare to the Lincoln Tombstone?

Hobart Welders - Products - Stick - Stickmate LX 235 AC / 160 DC

Thanks.

Chris

I've been using one for about 5 years. No problems. An excellent welder. Used it Saturday on a wheel disc modification project.

IMG_1021 (Small).JPG

/ Opinions welcome. Hobart Stickmate LX AC/DC #12  
What are these units worth in the US. There 699 here in canada. Im looking for one and also looking for the ironman 230 too for a new mig welder. Also sorry to hyjack this thread.

/ Opinions welcome. Hobart Stickmate LX AC/DC
204saskman said:
What are these units worth in the US. There 699 here in canada. Im looking for one and also looking for the ironman 230 too for a new mig welder. Also sorry to hyjack this thread.

They are $649 at TSC in Ontario and $499 at tractor supply in the US. I go to the US frequently but it's not worth buying it down there after I get hit with HST

C

Last edited:
Well I did the math. $110 cheaper to buy in the US after paying all taxes and exchange.
We get screwed on most things in Canada

/ Opinions welcome. Hobart Stickmate LX AC/DC #15  
Well I did the math. $110 cheaper to buy in the US after paying all taxes and exchange.
We get screwed on most things in Canada

Im with you there. Im going down to minot and i was thinking about doing abit of shopping down there and a new mig/plasma/arc are on my want list and if i can save a fair chunk of change down there i will. Im al about supporting local companies but the price difference on product is unreal. I need to do back splash in our kitchen and the woman wants glass tiles but it 16/sq ft here. Priced in minot at 6.50/sq ft for same tile. Its hard to say no to it when it comes down to it.