Kubota BX25D / BX70?

/ Kubota BX25D / BX70? #71  
MarkChambers said:
You can't speak in universal categories Bullitt. You might have a point if every situation was identical. But it's highly doubtful that there is full coincidence between everything you and I do. Each piece of property had its own particular set of conditions and there is a definite sense in which each is unique. I've been gardening for a good many years and I have spent a good amount of time composting and developing the soil. It is nice and fluffy and it's also flat. A lower center of gravity is of no benefit to me in my tilling situation and I don't need added traction to till the my soil. And if I did need weight for traction it wouldn't be dead weight provided by an object designed for some other purpose. Dead weight, by definition, provides no useful function and so in many cases its presence is negative. You don't haul a pack around on your back when you don't need it do you? When weight is actually needed it isn't "dead weight". Passive is the proper terminology and it performs a required function. And if needed I'll use those items created specifically for that purpose. In these parts they are called "weights". You can drive a nail with an 8 lb maul or a pair of side cutters if you want to but I prefer a hammer.

Now it might be useful to have the FEL on when grading the drive, especially if I've let it go, and then again it might not. But that has little to do with taking it off when I'm mowing does it?

I can't see any need in continuing this discussion. I am getting no where fast. It seems like you don't get any of the points I am trying to make and you come up with a goofy response. Good luck with your tractor and I wish many trouble free hours.

iptman said: