In search of a Round Baler...

/ In search of a Round Baler... #1  

VentracRandy

Tractor
Oliver 770, Farmal Super MTA,, Ford 850, Massey 285, Ventrac 3400L
I'm looking to buy a used round baler. I've never used one before and I've never investigated the differences. I've been baling small squares for years and it's time to move to something less labor intensive. (My kids have grown up.) I do about 38 acres of hay a year but could be baling straw as well if the opportunity presents itself. I'll be using a Massey 285 to pull it so I've got about 82 PTO hp to work with. I have about $3000 to spend and I enjoy renovating old/older equipment. For Parts stores, I've got the big three (JD, AGCO, NH) plus others close by so I'm not tied to any particular brand of machinery. I'd like something reliable and easy to operate. I like to be an informed consumer. So I need some advise before I start my search.

What should I look for in a used round baler or a round baler in general? Some have chains and some have belts. Are their advantages or disadvantages to each? Is their a brand or model I should avoid?

/ In search of a Round Baler... #2  
Chain balers are very old school and that school let out years ago. You want a no frills rounder that twines the bales (for 3 grand you won't find a net machine worth a darn.), IOW it will be basically junk.

I'd suggest shopping for a used 630 series NH manual tie machine. They make nice 4 x 4 bales in hay and straw, real simple and the twine control is in your cab / operators station. I had one for years, no issues. They have mini rough top belts and a pretty wide pickup plus they aren't pto power intensive, you tractor will run one just fine.

I traded mine in on a BR760 Twine / Net machine with full electronic controls, it was a bit more than 3 grand.

Chain balers are extremely hard on forage crops. Fine for bailing corn stalks or wheat straw but thats about it. They beat the heck out of hay and shatter the alfalfa.