Best mini-spit heat pump?

/ Best mini-spit heat pump? #1  

MinnesotaEric

Tractor
Kioti NX6010
I'm thinking about popping in my own mini-split heat pump. So far the most efficient I've looked at in the 18,000 pound range is a Mitsubishi rated at 21SEER. It also pumps heat down to -13 degrees F.

I've never done this kind of thing before, but as an auto tech, understand automotive AC systems well. Even so, I need to find out what I need to vac the system down and fill it. My install is pretty straight forward: through a upstairs wall on a walkout basement, with a drop 12 feet down to the dirt. I can pop 20amp 220 service out of the basement to service the mini-spit.

Any advice on the install or suggestions on which mini-spit I should look at? I'm in northern Minnesota and am more interested in electrical efficiency for cooling than electrical efficiency for heating.

/ Best mini-spit heat pump? #2  
You been over to the HVAC forum? I think Mitsubishi is pretty good..That forum is okay but there are some who will try to poke at you for doing the install yourself.

/ Best mini-spit heat pump? #3  
If you are a proficient auto AC service tech you should have no problem and have all the equipment you need except maybe silver brazing capability (copper lines). Big difference is the piping system being copper and the components are such as filter/dryer and sight glass. A lot of the small package units have pre-charged refrigerant lines factory charged and insulated. The small cans of refrigerant, you probably use at work, may not match the system charge and can get pretty expensive on your new system. You need to get acquainted at your local HVAC supplier. To buy refrigerant there you will need to show your EPA 608 Refrigerant Handlers certification (probably not required for your auto work).