Bluegrass build... one step at a time.

/ Bluegrass build... one step at a time. #21  
Congratulations on your land, I'm looking forward to following your progress. I'm new to horses and mostly just like them as yard ornaments. I found that a hot wire works wonders at getting them to respect a fence. Once they get zapped, then never try it again!!!

/ Bluegrass build... one step at a time. #22  
Congratulations on your land, I'm looking forward to following your progress. I'm new to horses and mostly just like them as yard ornaments. I found that a hot wire works wonders at getting them to respect a fence. Once they get zapped, then never try it again!!!
Typically, but not always, a shock to the nose will likely cause a horse to jump back and turn to another direction where as one to the chest may motivate them to go forward. If I have to introduce a horse to electric, I try to set up the former situation.

/ Bluegrass build... one step at a time. #23  
That is one of the most beautiful area's in this country..JMO

/ Bluegrass build... one step at a time.
I agree JDL...

I grew up in well outside of, Durango, in SW Colorado... which I believe to be every bit as beautiful. I was in the mountains, but the dessert is within an hour or two. I love the place, but it isn't where I live now.

The funny thing is, I never knew 'Lexington/Bluegrass' existed... I mean, I had heard about the Kentucky Derby etc, but I never really KNEW about the Bluegrass area. A few years back, I was taken there for the first time, in the spring, just after a rain. We drove from Louisville towards Lexington, getting off the Interstate and taking Old Frankfort Pike the rest of the way into town. Until you've driven Old Frankfort Pike its entire length, you can't honestly say you've seen the best of the Bluegrass, IMO. We popped up over a rise, and I saw exactly where I wanted to spend my life. The lush green fields, horses, barns, fences, and hills. It was immediately perfect for me.