York rake size

/ York rake size #1  

coolbrze

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5800
What size York rake would you recommend for a mid-50s HP tractor - a 6 or 7'? Also, when raking a gravel drive, how do you recommend the rake be angled? Or do I keep it perpendicular to the the driveway?

/ York rake size #2  
I asked the local NH dealer (he's close by and I buy parts from) about their LS rake and size to horsepower requirements.
Summary is that this is not a heavy implement that digs in like a plow and requires X-HP per foot.
So the 6 or 7 foot rake was more about what would be a good fit for my situation.

If you have a local dealer regardless of color just ask him as your window shopping implements. See what type of view they hold.
HP may not be a primary factor. But those with way more experience may have better insight. I'm still a novice.

/ York rake size #3  
If I,I would go for 7'.
Each driveway little different,I 45 pull from ditches to make crown for the water to drain.

/ York rake size #4  
What size York rake would you recommend for a mid-50s HP tractor - a 6 or 7'?

Also, when raking a gravel drive, how do you recommend the rake be angled?

Inform us of the outside-to-outside width of your tractor tires. Without this measurement no one can give you a proper recommendation. Wheel/tire spread can move the needle 24" on optimum rake width selection.

York Rakes are a brand of Landscape Rake, made by York Modern, originally in York, Pennsylvania. Is a York Rake what you have? Frames on York Rakes vary a bit from generic Landscape Rakes.

Landscape Rakes are most often used on a 45 degree angle, but angle is changed according to width of swathe desired and material worked, among other factors. Sometimes a flat gravel drive is raked full width. Crowned gravel drives are raked at less than half width.

Changing rake angles is a simple pin-lock change. The greater the angle, the more material moves along the face of the rake.