Vintage but How old?

/ Vintage but How old? #1  

theboy2011

Tractor
Gravely Model C Super Convertible
I recently purchased a Gravely Super Convertible. I believe that it is the 7.6 engine. It is the 8 speed. Im new to the Gravely world and im wondering how i can figure out how old it is exactly. Ive been told it is from 1972 to 1976. I am planning on fixing it up and I dont want to look like an idiot when I go to get parts and don't know what year I own. Any Help?

/ Vintage but How old?
Hey thank you very much. I'll have to get the serial off of it and match it up. do you know of any flaws that these old brutes had?

/ Vintage but How old? #4  
There were a few design issues aka flaws with the Convertible.

1 - No charging system. The battery will require periodic charging. If you have a manual start model, then you don't have to worry about this.

2 - The push button stop switch in the handlebar. This switch can and has caused the flywheels to become misaligned. Every single tractor I have seen with the pushbutton stop switch in the handlebar had misaligned flywheels. I have one in my backyard now.

3 - The PTO controls. The whole shipper shaft control mechanics are iffy at best. They finally fixed it when they made the 5000 series of tractors. It is this design issue that caused me to swear that I would never own a two wheeled Gravely tractor. Now that they have properly fixed it, I now have two 5665 tractors and a Pro-8.

4 - The hood to battery box mechanical design is a little iffy.

5 - Major engine parts can be expensive. The cylinder always has been expensive even when the engine was in production.

/ Vintage but How old?
Ok thank you. im still a little unfimiliar with these things. what is the shipper shaft control?

/ Vintage but How old? #6  
Ok thank you. im still a little unfimiliar with these things. what is the shipper shaft control?