Gravely l8

/ Gravely l8 #1  

Bwgad96

Silver Member
Tractor
Wayy to many.
Hey guys so I finally got the gravely to sputter and it's gettin spark. Now I had my pops take a look and he said I have fueling issues. Honestly I'm not good at all with carbs so, where would be a good starring point? Also I'm gonna probably sell this when I repair it and play for awhile, so I'll upload a picture and what do you guys think this might be worth? Thanks

Attachments

• image-4003474957.jpg
    image-4003474957.jpg
    476.6 KB · Views: 366
   / Gravely l8 #2  
Time to get good with carbs.

They aren't hard to fix. It just requires some patience and a good source of compressed air and a good blow gun.

/ Gravely l8
Ok so today I pulled the bowl off and cleaned it. It really wasn't that dirty but just to be sure I sprayed it all with carb cleaned let it sit the blew it out with compressed air. Still no luck. It will just crank and crank forever. So I thought I had the problem with magneto fixed so now I'm only getting a little tiny yellow spark. Frustrated to say the least. I now have no idea what to ever check or where to start. Thanks

/ Gravely l8 #4  
Tiny spark? The magneto should produce a spark at least 3/8" long.

Time to replace the condenser in the magneto. RIchard's (gravelyparts.com) has them.

/ Gravely l8
ok the new confenser is ordered and on the way along with new plug spark plug cable in line fuel filter air cleaned and a few other goodies haha

/ Gravely l8 #6  
Wouldn't hurt to try just cleaning the points.

When I tried to start mine after sitting, no spark. I looked close and there was white chalky stuff on the points. A little polishing with 320 grit emery cloth and it's good to go.

/ Gravely l8 #7  
Corroded points will indeed cause no spark at all. A weak condenser will produce a weak spark and in some cases no spark at all.

/ Gravely l8
ya i had already taken a fine file and made the points shiny so i figured that was the next step.

/ Gravely l8