Buying Advice how to determine if you are looking at a grey market tractor ?

/ how to determine if you are looking at a grey market tractor ? #1  

scaredychicken

Veteran Member
Tractor
John Deere 160 (1988), Arctic Cat 400 ATV (2006), Kubota BX23S (2018), Jacobsen Super Chief 1450 (1969), Cub Cadet RZT S50 zero turn mower (2012)
Greetings,

I am a tractor rookie, but I really want to know if there is a way to determine if a tractor is considered "grey market". Apart from obvious indicators like foreign signage I'd have no idea if I was looking at a used "grey" tractor. I am not mechanical, and I don't know enough about tractors generally, to knowingly venture into the grey market arena. Any assistance is appreciated.

I am looking for a used compact tractor, but there are so many options...

thanks

/ how to determine if you are looking at a grey market tractor ? #2  
A few tips that may help:

With only a few exceptions, Yanmar's older grey market machines will have four digits and possibly a letter after a "YM" prefix. Eg.: YM1300, YM2000D, etc. More recent Yanmars have an "F" or "FX" prefix, followed by a two or three digit number, with a possible "D" suffix. The D indicates a four wheel drive machine, and X signifies the machine has a Powershift transmission instead or standard gear drive. Newer is not better, really. The F/FX series are nowhere near as well supported as the YM series. Think 1960s Mustangs vs mid '70s Mustangs. :D Grey market Yanmars are generally very similar or essentially identical to domestic machines. Engine rebuild parts and many other parts of that sort are available, along with some gears, castings, steering boxes, etc.

So far as I am aware, all Hinomotos are grey market, whether in Canada or the US. They did build some tractors for other companies, such as Allis-Chalmers.