Tractor
54 In. 26hp Kohler Turn Tight Hydrostatic Garden Tractor
Hello,

I am new to owning a 26 acre ranch. :)

15 acres of pasture that needs to be cut--about 3 feet high:eek:

Just bought from Sears:

54 In. 26hp Kohler Turn Tight Hydrostatic Garden Tractor

Will that do it?:confused:

I have no horses or cattle---don't plan on having them. So I need to cut it myself? Or hire somebody to do it?

Any advice? What am I in for on the first cut?

Signed,
Helpless in Hamlin Pennsylvania

/ Mowing Help! #2  
Just a personal opinion....your gonna destroy your mower doing that, I would hire someone with a tractor and bush hog.

/ Mowing Help!
How about I hire someone for the first cut, and then maintain it with my mower....whadyathink

/ Mowing Help! #4  
You would be a lot better off......although 15 acres is gonna keep your mower busy.

/ Mowing Help! #5  
How about I hire someone for the first cut, and then maintain it with my mower....whadyathink

Not a chance! I own a little over 4 acres, with a house and driveway, along with a detached shop and associated driveway. So, I'm probably cutting about 3, 3.2 acres, all told. I have a 72" Zero Turn and it takes me about 2 hour and 15 minutes to mow it. You've got 5 times the amount of land I do, with a smaller mower... Not going to work in my opinion, unless you enjoy spending all weekend on a mower?? :laughing:

Best suggestion is either hire it out and have someone cut it for you when needed, or invest in some equipment. I'm a SCUT guy with no bush hog experience, but there are plenty of guys here that will give you good advice. Good luck!

/ Mowing Help! #6  
You will go nuts cutting 15 acres with a residential mower (that is all you will have time to do) and the mower will eventually be destroyed. You will learn quickly that you need commercial type equipment to do big jobs. You will learn. Ask me how I know.

MoKelly

/ Mowing Help!