Fertilizing Hay Field

/ Fertilizing Hay Field #1  

Nissan197

Platinum Member
Tractor
Mahindra 3215 4WD
Finally got time to put some 18-46-0 down on my 10 acre hay field. Had been meaning to do it for over a month, but had to go get a couple of hernias fixed which set me back. I am hoping for some moisture and will put some nitrogen down in the spring.

/ Fertilizing Hay Field #2  
That's a lot of P! Glad your up and running. How did you apply?

/ Fertilizing Hay Field
I just went down to the local co-op and used one of their fertilizer buggies. Put down approx. 75 lbs an acre. Soil test said the field was low on P.

/ Fertilizing Hay Field #4  
HHmmm.. I am fairly new to pasture management but I would have thought it would have been better to fertilize early spring... Does it not matter when you fertilize or is now (just before dormancy) better?

Not trying to troll your post, I just don't know. I have 30 acres for hay production and normally we apply nitrogen in early spring. I am planning on getting a soil sample and fertilizing but I had thought it would be best to do so early spring/late winter.

I am in Texas if that makes a difference.

/ Fertilizing Hay Field #5  
Lance in my area they generally fertilize Fall and Spring. It all depends on your soil tests and your soil. Fall fertilizer promotes better root growth which helps when things get dry. Spring fertilizer brings things out faster and will, at least sometimes, allow for an extra harvest during the season. Again, just depends on your soil and soil needs.

MarkV

/ Fertilizing Hay Field #6  
Up here it is usually spread manure on the field in the fall and fertilize in the spring.

/ Fertilizing Hay Field #7  
The easiest way to figure out when to best apply is to get a soil test and tell them what you are planting. The test will tell you where you are deficient and if they rep at the co-op or supply store is knowledgable about his/her products (which they usually are) will give you a good idea.