How To Build A Traditional Hay Stack?

/ How To Build A Traditional Hay Stack? #1  

Localmotion

Gold Member
Tractor
New Holland 50-86 / Siromer 204S / Case CK-28 / Cat 302.5 / Nissan L35.09 / Nissan Atleon 110
As the title says - looking for tips from those who have experience of building a proper loose hay stack...

I have plenty of experience of baling when I was in the UK, but around here balers are few and far between and contractors charge heavily!. Often when we clear plots of land there is good grass which could be made into hay at different times of year, and so I am looking for a cheap affordable way to store it without getting the rain into it. I seem to remember that a traditional haystack sheds the rain if properly built?

Any tips / ideas to make the process as simple as possible will be greatly appreciated :thumbsup:

/ How To Build A Traditional Hay Stack? #2  
As the title says - looking for tips from those who have experience of building a proper loose hay stack...

I have plenty of experience of baling when I was in the UK, but around here balers are few and far between and contractors charge heavily!. Often when we clear plots of land there is good grass which could be made into hay at different times of year, and so I am looking for a cheap affordable way to store it without getting the rain into it. I seem to remember that a traditional haystack sheds the rain if properly built?

Any tips / ideas to make the process as simple as possible will be greatly appreciated :thumbsup:

I don't know, but will follow this thread because I think it is interesting.

I have an old dairy barn, circa 1920 with the original hay hook in it. I don't think it was used for bales by the looks of it.

/ How To Build A Traditional Hay Stack? #3