Looking to start growing & harvesting Hay - with a Compact Tractor. Advice please

/ Looking to start growing & harvesting Hay - with a Compact Tractor. Advice please #1  

TSO

Elite Member
Tractor
Massey 1652 HST Cab
Okay, first off... don't laugh at my little 23 HP compact tractor! :laughing: She's done everything I've asked her to so far... but that is mostly related to Loader work and digging holes with the bucket & auger. Just kidding... I know she ain't a big farm rig.

Anyhow, we have up to 6 acres available to grow hay on. I figured I could make some extra money if I put it to use, so I'd like to get started this spring. I know NOTHING, and I mean nothing, about farming, so I'm a complete rookie when it comes to this... although I'm pretty capable, so if I get some advice I may be able to make it work!

I've been reading up on the type of grass to plant, how & when to harvest it, etc. My concerns though are the equipment. Pretty much everything I find for sale (used) around my area are for REAL (full size) tractors. I've seen the mini-baler's online, but those go for around $13k new, and that's quite a bit to spend for a hobby hay farm. If I can avoid it, I don't want to buy another tractor just for the hay work...

SO...

Considering the size of my operation, and the size of my tractor (about 20 PTO HP) can any of you recommend which equipment might work for me? What type & size of mower, rake, and baler would be best for me? Or, should I just find a $2500 old big tractor to do the work?

Also, the land is mostly flat. A couple small rises, but nothing crazy.

Thanks in advance! Any other advice or recommendations is welcomed too!

Last edited:
   / Looking to start growing & harvesting Hay - with a Compact Tractor. Advice please #2  
I honestly don't think you can expect to make the kind of money you're talking about on 6 acres. If that was the case I'd be rich.

/ Looking to start growing & harvesting Hay - with a Compact Tractor. Advice please