New Holland 479 Haybine- Guard changing

/ New Holland 479 Haybine- Guard changing #1  

gargoyleridge

Tractor
Kubota M6040
I just purchased an NH 479. I've never worked on one of these. I need to replace a guard. The owners manual mentions adjusting hold down clips, but no direct reference to replacing a guard. Do I remove the knife to replace the guard..

Apologies for the remedial question, I'm new to all of this.

Thanks for your help!

/ New Holland 479 Haybine- Guard changing #2  
Although, I have never tried it, you may be able to offset the knife and replace the guard. I had to replace the entire set of guards on my 492, so just removed the whole cutter bar. That's a pretty simple task.

Hawk

/ New Holland 479 Haybine- Guard changing #3  
I've done these before.

We could do it with just offseting the knives and hitting them, the tapping the new one back in. If it is a bolted cutter bar we would loosen the knife if it were too tight a fit, if not just hit it a little harder.

/ New Holland 479 Haybine- Guard changing #4