Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tractor
    International 444

Default Roll baling advice?

I recently purchased a New Holland 630 4x4 baler. I have never used a round baler before and have no clue on the right method of use, like how fast, what throttle position, and like how big to make the windrows? I have read some where that there is a special method to make a core to get things started? Any advice is appreciated as the tractor im using is marginal in HP Im afraid I will have to go too slow, if there is such a thing.
    Thanks for any tips!

Tractor
    Kubota 9540, RTV 900 and David Brown 885.

I don't know a thing about that model baler in particular but from putting up hay for several years I will offer my general observations...

You should run the PTO right at 540 rpm. Perhaps slightly more, but no less.

I prefer a nice big wide windrow. With a narrow windrow it is too easy to get the bales bigger on one end than the other, which requires a lot of weaving around from side to side to fix. Another thing I do not like about small windrows is it takes too much driving around to make a bale, I figure it is cheaper to run a rake a little longer and the baler a little less.

As for ground speed, just go slow until you feel comfortable with the operation of the baler. Once you have it pretty much figured out you can increase the speed. You can go too fast, the result will be a loose bale that won't hold it's shape well or in the worse case stop up the baler pick up.

PMA
    Tractor
    John Deere 5325, CI Farmall 85U, Mccormick International 404

Believe me you do not want to clog the baler.

Sent from my iPhone using TractorByNet

Tractor
    International 444

Default Re: Roll baling advice?

Thanks for the replys. So going slower equals a tighter bale? and what does one do if they clog up a roll baler? Its an easy fix when that happens on our square baler.

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    cx70,5510,4630,5005