What kind of rake - bar vs. wheel

/ What kind of rake - bar vs. wheel #1  

rtimgray

Veteran Member
So far this year, I've picked up a small roller, an old square baler and disc mower. This is my first year for doing hay all by myself, and so far it's going pretty well. However, at this point, I'm still using a borrowed rake that I will need to return. It is an old 5-bar rake, ground driven via wheel and shaft. I've been looking for a rake but so far haven't found anything local and cheap. I will finish out this season with the borrowed rake, so I should have most of a year to look, so I am wondering about differences between bar rakes and wheel rakes.

I've seen several of the bigger farmers pulling the large V-rakes, but that might be a bit much, in terms of dollar outlay for me. I've seen several 3 pt hitch wheel rakes advertised, but just don't know the plus/minus of each type. I would welcome any opinions and the goods/bads about each one.

If it matters, I'll be doing a couple of cuttings of about 60 acres of fescue/grass hay. I will be square baling and rolling some.

Thanks.

Good luck and take care.

/ What kind of rake - bar vs. wheel #2  
I used to put up 10000 small square bales a year and always used a NH trailer bar rake and that is likely what I would buy now if I went in to hay again. But I will say that was 25 years ago and new equipment comes out every year.

/ What kind of rake - bar vs. wheel #3  
Not sure if it's going to make much difference between a roller bar versus wheel rake. It's been decades since I did any haying, but I seem to recall the 5 bar rakes had better ground coverage and didn't tend to miss any hay; whereas the wheel sometimes dropped clumps, especially at the end of the rows on turns. (Neighbors used a bar rake, my maternal grandfather used a wheel.)

/ What kind of rake - bar vs. wheel #4