just purchased a New Holland 408 discbine.

/ just purchased a New Holland 408 discbine. #1  

bsrfarms97

Silver Member
Tractor
John Deere 3150
Hey ive been studying discbines for several years on whether to buy new or which type to buy. I ran across a New Holland 408 today below $4000 and always garage kept. It came from a local farmer that ive known for many years. He owned since it was new. It has new rollers top and bottom. professionally rebuilt cutterbar and all new bareings. any thoughts on this particular machine and what to keep an eye on? Also which one of the Kuhn and JD models have this same cutterbar?
Ive been mowing a couple hundred acres now for several years useing only a superior 394 sicklebar mower. So im interested on seeing how this 408 discbine will work out for me.

/ just purchased a New Holland 408 discbine. #2  
As long as you want to trust the quality of the work, go for it. I'd have it run AT SPEED for no less than 15 minutes then do a thoruogh inspection of all bearing and "hat" temps before writing a check. Cutterbar work on these machines is worrysome in that it might have been done right, or not.

/ just purchased a New Holland 408 discbine.
it was rebuilt last year by the dealership and has mowed a couple hundred acres since the work was done with no problems. my neighbor only sold it cause he bought a new jd 630 and no longer needed the 408.

/ just purchased a New Holland 408 discbine. #4  
it was rebuilt last year by the dealership and has mowed a couple hundred acres since the work was done with no problems. my neighbor only sold it cause he bought a new jd 630 and no longer needed the 408.

I would feel a lot better about that than buying one that had been torn limb to gut last week, if you get my drift.