What is cutting on shares mean exactly?

/ What is cutting on shares mean exactly? #1  

danisiri

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota M7060HDC12
I am a newbie. I am having someone cut our 70 acres for hay this year and he is offering to either a) cut for free if he keeps all the hay, or b) cut on 60/40 shares, or c) charge $25/bale.

I assumed that shares means he cuts for free but keeps 60% and I keep 40%. Am I right or wrong? Or is there a cost associated with doing shares?

Thanks!

/ What is cutting on shares mean exactly? #2  
I'm in IA but here's what we usually do. 50/50 share. Your field, no cash changes hands, custom operator keeps 1/2 of final product. Charge per bale, this can vary by bale size, 25 is what I would charge for a 4x5, I would be higher on a 5x6. edit-forgot about net wrap, is a more for it less for twine, usually.

Also, consider field shape and operator friendliness. If small and irregular, may charge more, keep more share. If hay is thin, must keep more or charge more.

Also, We have a few small fields that we do all and keep all as no one would mess with 1-3 acre fields. The owner is happy that they stay mowed and weed free. I sit grass, clover, alfalfa. Has it been fertilized, most people don't fertilize hay ground enough.

/ What is cutting on shares mean exactly? #3  
I assume you mean big bales. All those are fair to some people. Some just want the land kept open and don't have any stock to feed or use for the hay. Others have use for it but no equipment so have to pay for the service with part of the crop. exactly how much would vary with the quality of the hay and ease of access etc. And last is somebody with a lot of stock and no equipment that needs all the hay their land produces and has to pay in cash for the service. Where do you fit in the option sheet?

/ What is cutting on shares mean exactly?