Chains for my Honda

/ Chains for my Honda #1  

AMR

Gold Member
Tractor
B3030
My Honda Accord is absolutely useless with any snow at all, I have a very steep hill on the road approaching my house, many nights I have had to go as far as I can and then drag the car the rest of the way with my tractor, no fun, lots of walking. I have no experience with chains, could I buy a cheap set that I can get on relatively quickly for the 3 or 4 times a year I need it? It appears to me that a set for the front would be all I needed. I put on about 100 miles a day so I don't want to waste the gas in my Tundra plus stay at home mama needs the 4wd when it is bad out and I don't want to drop a mint on snow tires, which I suspect wouldn't work anyway.

/ Chains for my Honda #2  
Studded snow tire would do wonders for your car.

Chains are a pita for a small car like that, but there are some. Car Tire Chains and Snow Chains has some.

/ Chains for my Honda #3  
Studded snow tire would do wonders for your car.

I agree, I am suprized you don't already run studded snow tires in the winter. I used them on my 2 wheel drive vehicles when I lived in Washington state.

When I saw the Thread Title, I thought it was going to be about a motorcycle. When I was building houses in Japan and it would snow they would put chains on their Hondas, (Motorcycles) and keep right on going.
Terry

/ Chains for my Honda #4  
Get some Snow tires. Chains are only good when their on while the proper tires are good all winter. Around here there is no such thing as "ALL" season there is snow season or no snow season lol.

Id recommend some Michelin Xice or bridgestone Blizzaks. At $7-800 installed its cheap insurance.

/ Chains for my Honda #5  
And if ya do have to resort to something like chains, think cable chains instead.

/ Chains for my Honda #6  
Be sure and check your owner's manual.