Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Gold Member
    Tractor
    B3030

Default Chains for my Honda

My Honda Accord is absolutely useless with any snow at all, I have a very steep hill on the road approaching my house, many nights I have had to go as far as I can and then drag the car the rest of the way with my tractor, no fun, lots of walking. I have no experience with chains, could I buy a cheap set that I can get on relatively quickly for the 3 or 4 times a year I need it? It appears to me that a set for the front would be all I needed. I put on about 100 miles a day so I don't want to waste the gas in my Tundra plus stay at home mama needs the 4wd when it is bad out and I don't want to drop a mint on snow tires, which I suspect wouldn't work anyway.

Tractor
    2005 TB135 Excavator with Thumb, Quick Attach System, Ripper tooth, 3' Hydrauic Tilt Clean-up Bucket, Skeleton Bucket, 1986 Kubota 4150 with Loader and Quick Attach with Woods Forks, JD B, 1963 IH 504

Default Re: Chains for my Honda

Studded snow tire would do wonders for your car.

Chains are a pita for a small car like that, but there are some. Car Tire Chains and Snow Chains has some.
    2009 Kubota M7040, cab
    2005 Takeuchi 135 excavator
    1963 Oshkosh 4819
    2013 GMC 3500 6.0 w 9-2 Boss V Fisher poly Sander.
    IH 504, JD B, Ford 2n, Farmall cub, Gehl 1475 Round Baler, JD 640 rake, Vermeer 2500 Bale Wrapper, Zetor 185 Drum Mower, New Idea 217 manure Spreader, Kuhn 4 star tedder, Farmi 501 winch.
    Local 740 Portland ME
    20 Scottish Highland Beef Cattle, 3 Herefords, 3 Goats, 2 Alpacas, 2 Llama, 140+- layers, and lots of maple trees.
    Facebook: Phillip View Farm

Tractor
    YANMAR FX42d

[QUOTE=atgreene;1556069]Studded snow tire would do wonders for your car.

I agree, I am suprized you don't already run studded snow tires in the winter. I used them on my 2 wheel drive vehicles when I lived in Washington state.