Husqvarna 262XP Professional

/ Husqvarna 262XP Professional #1  

JimR

Elite Member
Tractor
Kioti NX4510HST
I picked up one of these saws today in like new condition with a 20 inch bar for $200.00. Just curious if anyone has one of these sawdust makers? I do say sawdust maker because it makes my 55 Rancher look like a toy. It is not much bigger in size and weight than my 55. The big difference is the motor has 4.8 HP and is air injected. It is also rated for a 32 inch bar. If anyone owns one of these, what's the largest bar you have run on your saw and how do you like it?

/ Husqvarna 262XP Professional #2  
I've been running one for about 15 years. It's a great saw with one of the best power to weight ratios of any saw out there. I ran an 18" bar for years, and just switched to a 20".

It uses the Husky "small mount" bars and I don't think you can readily get a 32" bar, and it would be too big anyway, I think. I think the longest the small mount bars come is 24", maybe 28". Regardless, that's pretty long for the saw.

One thing to watch out for is snap-back when you are starting the saw. It has very high compression and no compression release valve. Sometimes it won't quite start and snap back the pull handle. It hurts like ****. Grip the starter handle real firm and use strong, sharp pulls when starting.

You got yourself a tremendous saw.

/ Husqvarna 262XP Professional
Hayden, thanks for the info. I already found out about the snap-back as it ripped the pull start handle right out of my hand this afternoon when I went to start it. Good thing I had a glove on. It's nice to use a saw that does what it was made to do. I can bog down my 55 Rancher easily. This little saw just runs like a wild man with a fire under his backside. My local chain saw dealer did say the saw could accommodate a 32" bar. I ordered a 30 inch for it. I am happier than a pig in sh-t that I bought this saw.

/ Husqvarna 262XP Professional #4