Need help with IH 254 hydraulics

/ Need help with IH 254 hydraulics #1  

Shredder

Tractor
1982 IH 254 Compact
I'm new to tractors. I've had this one several yrs but am not very familiar with working on it.

The 3ph hydraulics on my compact 254 suddenly stopped working. The 3ph is the only hydraulics on the tractor; no add-ons. It's pretty much just a shredding machine.

A couple of weeks ago I changed the hy-tran fluid because I had water in it from a badly cracked shifter boot. I was not quite able to drain it completely so there was still some water in the fluid. Last week I shredded for about 8 hrs without a problem. I parked it for a week and was going to drain the hy-tran fluid again today. When I went to move the tractor the 3ph hydraulics would not work; completely unresponsive. I didn't see any leaks. I check the trans level, and it was within the operating range. The linkage seems to be intact. I have never worked on hydraulics but am willing to give it a go.

Where should I look at first? Any help appreciated.

Norm

/ Need help with IH 254 hydraulics #2  
Welcome to TBN. Sorry to hear of your problems. Might try the YT (Yesterday's Tractors) website, they deal with older equipment/tractors, and they have an IH forum. Those guys should be able to help. I am not familiar with your particular unit. Strange how we try to do preventive maintenance on a machine that works fine, and when we get done, it won't work/move/operate like it did before. Good luck.

/ Need help with IH 254 hydraulics
Thanks. Lady Luck and I are pretty much strangers lately:( My tractor, a rebadged Mitsubishi, is a 1982 model. At 25 yrs it didn't seem old in comparison.....but maybe the "old tractors home" (i.e. YT website) is the place I should go.

/ Need help with IH 254 hydraulics #4