3 point lift problem

/ 3 point lift problem #1  

Bocephus2002

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1020 Standard
I just purchased an old MF, and when I try to use my Box Blade, I have to Rev the engine very high in order for it to lift it. Is this normal? Just wondering if something is about to go on it. It's only a 5' blade so I would not think it should have to work this hard to lift it. This is my first tractor and it needs a lot of work, but im looking forward to it. Any advice would be great.

Thanks,

Mike

/ 3 point lift problem #2  
Howdy, welcome to the forum. I'm not an expert, but looks like I'm the first one here. Have you checked your hydraulic fluid level?

/ 3 point lift problem #3  
Is there a hydraulic safety on the 3PH control valve? If it was leaking, this would divert flow from the lift and slow things down. Is the valve control linkage allowing full valve travel? Is there a speed regulating valve on the system to limit the lowering speed? If closed way down, it might limit the lifting speed. Do you have anything upstream of the 3PH such as a loader or QC fittings that may be restricting the flow? Do you have a way of measuring pump pressure? The pump may be tired...

/ 3 point lift problem #4  
Bocephus2002 said:
I just purchased an old MF, and when I try to use my Box Blade, I have to Rev the engine very high in order for it to lift it. Is this normal? Just wondering if something is about to go on it. It's only a 5' blade so I would not think it should have to work this hard to lift it. This is my first tractor and it needs a lot of work, but im looking forward to it. Any advice would be great.

Thanks,

Mike

Welcome to TBN Mike,