Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter #1  

Nickyboy

Hi all, first post
I have my splitter about half done. I bought a 22 gpm Haldex (Barnes) pump from Northern, but it may be too big. I have a 7hp Lombardini vertical shaft diesel engine (24 ft lbs torque @ 3600 rpm) and a 10 gallon tank. Haven't run it yet, so I can return it. Is this pump too big for my rig? Guy here told me 16 gpm is as big as you'd ever need. Appreciate any opinions

Nick

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter #2  
How big a cylinder are you going to use? Will your valves pass 22 gpm? Is it a 2-stage pump? How about running the diesel at half that speed so it's quieter and lasts longer, if you still get good cycle time? More info, please.
Jim

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter
I have a 24" long cylinder with a 1-5/8" bore off a Cat Dozer. I don't have any more specs on it, and will buy a new one if I need to. The pump is a 2-stage unit. Don't understand question about my valves passing 22 gpm. Sorry for the lack of smarts. Hope this info helps.
Nick

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter #4  
I think you need about 16 hp to push 22 gpm at 2000 psi. What's the high pressure stage flow rate and pressure?

Also, the cylinder is pretty wimpy for a splitter. Most are 4" bore 2" rod.

jb

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter
Ugh- That's what Haldex tech support told me. They show 15 hp as the optimal size engine. Guess I'm going to send the pump back for a 16 gpm. Maybe buy a bigger cylinder, too. I think Northern has a cylinder/wedge kit they sell. In fact that's how I found this forum, antho I never found that particular thread. Thanks!

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter #6  
Nick, Use the CALCULATOR here on the Surplus Center website;) The one on the right is what you need.

/ Sizing a Haldex Pump for my splitter #7