Remotes for Grapple Use

/ Remotes for Grapple Use #1  

Lunk

Platinum Member
Tractor
Branson 4720H / BL200 Loader
My tractor is having a pair of rear remotes installed. I intend to use them to power the 60" LD Grapple Rake I just ordered from Markham.

Some members refer to using a single rear remote to plumb the hydraulics, while others make it sound as if you need two - One to extend, and one to retract the ram.

Can someone tell me in plain english (I'm not a hydraulic engineer, after all), how the rear remotes are utilized for grapple service? I'm aware that I'll need to run a pair of hoses to the front of the tractor via the loader arms, but not much else.

Thanks,

Lunk

/ Remotes for Grapple Use #2  
One "pair" or "set" of remotes has to couplers, and requires two hose to operate the DA (double acting) cylinder on your grapple. There will be one handle to control one set of remotes. The handle will be spring centered-so you push the handle one way to open, and the other way to close. Don't like the way it operates? Then just flip the hoses and the functions will be reversed.

Clear as mud?;)

/ Remotes for Grapple Use #3  
Spend the extra money and get a joystick mounted up front . I cannot think of anything more awkward and possibly dangerous than trying to work the grapple from beside the seat .

/ Remotes for Grapple Use #4  
Spend the extra money and get a joystick mounted up front . I cannot think of anything more awkward and possibly dangerous than trying to work the grapple from beside the seat .

That statement is sure going to ruffle some feathers:eek: There sure are a LOT of guy's here using the rear remote to control grapples and 4n1's-not sure why you think it's "dangerous"? I way agree with awkward...but "dangerous"?

/ Remotes for Grapple Use #5