JD 970 Power Beyond Plumbing...want to add valve for flail mower side slide cylinder

/ JD 970 Power Beyond Plumbing...want to add valve for flail mower side slide cylinder #1  

ttkeeler

Bronze Member
I would like to add a simple valve to control the side to side slide cylinder on my rear mounted flail mower. I have been using half of the FEL joystick by disconnecting two of its hoses just forward of the clutch pedal and temporarily using two hoses to the rear. Which of course disables half of my FEL at the same time. Plumbing into the Power Beyond with a new valve sounds like the best route but isn't clear to me exactly how to do. I could also use this for other applications at the rear if I can just get it plumbed in correctly. I am pretty new at hydraulics so bear with me.

Anyone got any good pictures or diagrams of what the FEL valve looks like (how it plumbs) and how the PB connects into the system?

/ JD 970 Power Beyond Plumbing...want to add valve for flail mower side slide cylinder #2  
I just searched on JDParts for some info, but could not find anything useful to tell you...there is ports for the PB because the is/was a backhoe available for your machine...

/ JD 970 Power Beyond Plumbing...want to add valve for flail mower side slide cylinder
I just searched on JDParts for some info, but could not find anything useful to tell you...there is ports for the PB because the is/was a backhoe available for your machine...

I tried the same thing with no luck.

With the backhoe removed, I obvisouly can't use the backhoe and rear flail mower at the same time anyway, can I not somehow use the quick connect ports for it to run another control valve? When I need to put the backhoe back on I could just swap the quick connects. It would seem like that would work or not?

If that would work any suggestions on a good reasonably priced valve?

/ JD 970 Power Beyond Plumbing...want to add valve for flail mower side slide cylinder #4