PTO hydraulic pump questions

/ PTO hydraulic pump questions #1  

jdcoolidge

I am new to hydraulics so as usual have questions.

My tractor is an 18 hp diesel Yanmar 187D with an integral hydraulic pump.
I have been unable to find out what the actual GPM of the pump is, but installed an hydraulic log splitter using a diverting valve to insure full output to the splitter. Using the out stroke time I back calculated and the pump is putting out about 4.4 GPM. So for a one person operation, and with a locking retract cycle it works "OK". I suspect that for the amount of wood needed and for a multiperson operation a faster cycle time will be needed. There are several sources for PTO hydraulic pumps all with about the same range of specs. How do I determine the pump best suited for this particular application? The splitter has 1/2" ID hoses as are all the hoses and fittings I added to hook it to the tractor. $$$$ ouch. Is there any benefit to using a larger capacity pump at a lower rpm to get a faster cycle time, or am I better off to run a pump at the full PTO rpm (540) with higher engine rpm. My thought was that less fuel would be used running the tractor (and PTO) at a lower rpm. Splitter specs: Ram 3.5" Rod 1.5" Stroke 18.5" Thanks for any thoughts and help.

Duncan

/ PTO hydraulic pump questions #2  
   / PTO hydraulic pump questions
JJ I thought you might respond.

Any thoughts on the use of a larger capacity pump at lower rpms.
Can you still get 2000 psi, but at 1/2 or so of the rated pump rpm. I have
no idea what the HP vs RPM curve for the tractor looks like.

As I understand pumps are generally constant flow so they require some way of allowing that flow even when equipment is static. An oversized pump
I presume would require some bypass if the attached equipment did not utilize the excess flow when operating? Or for that matter if the open center