LA 463 Loader valve surge on L3400HST

/ LA 463 Loader valve surge on L3400HST #1  

mike69440

Elite Member
Tractor
1984 Kubota B7200D (Sold 2015,) 2005 L39 Kubota, 2006 RTV 900 1997 Komatsu PC75UU2E w/ Thumb & Blade, 2013 Mahindra Max28XL Shuttle
Surging, pulsing and chatter with LA463 loader on a Kubota L3400HST.

This problem just recently developed.

I believe fluid levels are where they are supposed to be. I'm not sure where to check fluid level on the L3400HST This is my neighbor痴 tractor. I am a mechanical engineer and was asked to help.

When curling back or lifting the bucket, loaded or not, the loader valve and loader movement surges, pulses and chatters.

The loader will lift a few inches smoothly, then pulse and chatter like the pump is suction starved, then lift normally a few more inches, then chatter.

This occurs at any cylinder position. I can feel and hear the loader valve pulse.

When lowering the loader arms or dumping the bucket, the hydraulic flow appears normal. Then the loader is fully curled or arms lifted to relief, the relief valve does not chatter and appears to function normally.

Any help is appreciated.

/ LA 463 Loader valve surge on L3400HST #2  
Is the fluid foamy by chance? When was the last service done including replacing the filter and cleaning the suction screen?

/ LA 463 Loader valve surge on L3400HST
Is the fluid foamy by chance? When was the last service done including replacing the filter and cleaning the suction screen?

Supposedly the Local dealer in Tilton, NH did a $600 service at fifty hours, the tractor has 208 hours, I did an engine oil change @ 200 hrs for my neighbor as she is stuck alone now running the farm.

Where is the dip stick to check the hydraulic oil level on an L3400HST? Where is the hydraulic oil pump suction screen located?

The HST seems to be operating fine. Would not a problem with restriction in the filter or screen also cause the HST to act up? I was recently backblading with her tractor.