Front QD Mod/Plow Hookup- VIDEO

/ Front QD Mod/Plow Hookup- VIDEO #1  

TTTTTT

Gold Member
Tractor
Dong Feng 354 (Oct 2008)
Hi All,

For all the hydraulic experts, I am still a bit of a novice so I welcome any comments on the setup that don't seem right or could lead to problems. At this point everything works as it should and I am happy with the setup.

For the plow mod, I wanted angle control, but this was just an off shoot of installing Quick Disconnects at the front of the tractor on the FEL frame for many other things. I kept it simple with a manual control valve (no electrics). I got a simple single spool open center valve that I put in series with my other hydraulics. My pump supplies my FEL then to the new valve and then continues to my rear remotes and then to the 3pt , then to the reservoir. Just a note for anyone wanting to do it this way, all my existing hydraulics work as normal with only one function being used at one time. No problem as I only have one free arm to operate anyway. I went with 3/8" hose to the to the QD's as 1/2" I did not see necessary for the functions that would be used.

I was able to locate the new control valve beside my existing FEL control valve similar to the way some FEL valves that have a 3rd function (4 in1 bucket) already there.

It was recommended to install a cross over relief valve, especially when operating a plow as any jar if hitting something could potentially blow something hydraulically as the plow cylinders are in a locked state. It basically releases the pressure and dumps it to the other side. I opted to locate it before my QD's (not with the plow) so I could use it for other functions although I can't think of what else would need it on the front end.