Help Diagnosing No Hitch Operation Under Load

/ Help Diagnosing No Hitch Operation Under Load #1  

KrisD_in_WV

Tractor
Belarus 532, JD X500
Greetings!

I am relatively new to hydraulics and have read through many of the extensive, informative posts in this forum. I have attempted to diagnose my problem with the resources I have available but have come to a stand still. I am trying to determine the highest probability of where the fault is in my hydraulic system. I will attempt to be as thorough as I can be, but am sure that there may be more questions.

Problem
Hitch will not raise under load exceeding the weight of a man.

Facts
Category II TPH rated at 3400 pounds of lift

- Hitch raises and lowers with no load perfectly although it does so slowly in each direction

- Hitch cannot raise a 1000 pound implement

- Hitch will raise with me standing on the bars (198 pounds)

- When I put the hitch control in the "raise" position, I can manually raise the implement and it stays; no leak down when I manually put it into position with 1000 pound load

- Some fine metal particles were present in the old fluid

What I have Done So Far
- Flushed hydraulic fluid and changed filter (original fluid was mostly clear however toward the end of the draining, moisture was noticed in about the last gallon)

- Removed a sampling of hoses and checked for obstructions; none found

- Verified flow through bypass plumbing

- Visually inspected entire circuit; found some fluid in various places but cannot tell if it from what I spilled or if there are leaks. Fluid amount was negligible.

Question
- Based on what I have shared, is the probability higher that my lift cylinder is bad or that I have a pump that is performing sub-optimally?

Thanks in advance for the help.

~kd

/ Help Diagnosing No Hitch Operation Under Load #2  
Greetings!