Hydraulic issues...help me

/ Hydraulic issues...help me #1  

Jcorso56

It's not a tractor but it seems to be the same principle. I have a manlift that is a Wisconsin engine and a John Deere pump. Direct drive ? Hooked up by two sprockets and a chain. Problem I am having is engine won't turn over immediately after I shut it down. I have to wait about 10 minutes then I canturn over the motor. Almost like the hydraulic system is bogging down the engine. Any ideas? I started disassembling the pump thinking the pump was shot. The pump would not turn until I drained the fluid. I hooked it all back up and refilled and it started right up and got up to pressure. I am stumped plus I am no expert on hydraulics

/ Hydraulic issues...help me #2  
Hydraulic circuits on aerial work platforms are designed so as to dump oil directly back to tank unless a function is actuated.

When a function is actuated at least two things need to occur for the function to operate. Let's say you want the platform to lift, so you actuate the lift switch or joystick. That switch or joystick sends an electrical signal to at least two solenoid valves.

The first solenoid valve is a "dump" valve that closes off the pump flow back to tank so the system can build pressure to actuate the desired function. The second solenoid valve is for the function you wish to activate...."lift up" for example. So the first solenoid valve allows the system to build pressure, and the second valve sends that pressure where it needs to go.

If your machine is turning over hard with the starter due to hydraulic pressure in the system, then someone without a schematic has been mucking around with the wiring, or.....the dump valve itself is sticking and not allowing oil to go back to tank when a function isn't selected.

What model machine is this?

/ Hydraulic issues...help me
It is an old grove manlift mz50. I can't find any info from anywhere in regards