Hydraulic motors 101

/ Hydraulic motors 101 #1  

zmoz

Silver Member
Tractor
-
Lately I've been really thinking hard about building a small hydrostatic driven vehicle, similar to a "Power Trac" or something, maybe smaller like the mini skid steers. I've never done any projects with hydraulics before, so this is new territory for me. Basically I want a really small "hybrid" loader/forklift for my shop.

I've been doing a ton of reading and searching, but still having a little trouble figuring out how the hydrostatic drive works. Basically, I want to make a small vehicle with 2 or 4 hydraulic wheel motors. It would be driven with, lets say, a 20hp engine, coupled to a hydraulic pump that takes the full output.

Here's my confusion - how do I control the speed of the wheel motors? Where is the "throttle"? I've been looking all over surplus center's site for parts, not sure what I'll need to control the motors. If I'm supplying full hydraulic power to the wheel motors, do I just throttle the engine to vary the motor speed? I know a normal setup is to have a forward pedal and a reverse pedal for the hydraulic control - but do these actually control the hydraulic flow rate and speed, or are they just on/off valves?

/ Hydraulic motors 101 #2  
I've had little experiance with hydraulic drive equipment, but the one I used years ago had a proportional valve for forward/reverse and you ran the engine at operating RPM. It used a single control similar to a FEL joystick which controled left/right and forward/reverse.

/ Hydraulic motors 101 #3  
Hydrostatic drive systems vary the wheel motor rpm by changing the pump's displacement. The speed control linkage moves a swashplate in the piston pump. Moving the swashplate controls the stroke of the pistons. Varying the piston stroke varies the pump output to control the speed of the motors.