Hydraulic Lift Quit Working

/ Hydraulic Lift Quit Working #1  

swampdog

Tractor
Ford 601 Workmaster
I have a 1958 Ford 601 Workmaster and when I started it today the hydraulics did not work. Last time I used it everything was fine. I checked the fluid level and it was fine. With the tractor running I loosened, then removed the allen screw in the pump and no fluid came out. I can't even see any fluid when I look into the hole where I removed the screw. Is it the pump? With the tractor running I can manually (by hand) raise and lower the arms without any resistance. What can I do to verify the problem?

I am also a little confused about the dip stick. On one side of the dip stick it says "pedestal oil level" with an arrow and a line and on the same side of the stick it also says "Filler opening" with and arrow and line. The lines are on opposite ends of the stick. What is this for? The opposite side of the stick seems to be for checking the fluid level. It says Hydraulic system all cylinders fully extended. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

/ Hydraulic Lift Quit Working #2  
Can you install a gage between the pump and the first valve? Can you determine if the pump is turning?

/ Hydraulic Lift Quit Working #3  
swampdog said:
I have a 1958 Ford 601 Workmaster and when I started it today the hydraulics did not work. Last time I used it everything was fine. I checked the fluid level and it was fine. With the tractor running I loosened, then removed the allen screw in the pump and no fluid came out. I can't even see any fluid when I look into the hole where I removed the screw. Is it the pump? With the tractor running I can manually (by hand) raise and lower the arms without any resistance. What can I do to verify the problem?