Hydraulic cylinder replacement for a woods backhoe

/ Hydraulic cylinder replacement for a woods backhoe #1  

Lunker

Tractor
Kubota L2650/B1750
Hi -

New member here looking for help with finding a workable replacement for the dipper-stick cylinder for my Woods BH7500 backhoe.

Woods documentation calls for a 2 x 16.75 Double-acting hyd. cylinder - part number 37592
The cylinder I have has a closed length of 24.5" and an extended length of 42.5".. fyi - I have no idea if in fact this is the original cylinder. I purchased this hoe off of craigslist and am in the midst of refurbishing it..

Based on what Woods recommends I do not see an exact match for the cylinder at SurplusCenter but I do see some that are close:
Item# 9-7710-16 a little short - does that even matter? would I notice the difference? I'm new to the backhoe as well to the forum :) Surplus Center - 2X16X1.25 DA HYD CYL 1 PINS HVY DUTY CROSSTUBE

Item# 9-7710-18 a little long. If it is too long is there an easy way to deal with that? How would I know its too long (without using the hydraulics) Surplus Center - 2X18X1.25 DA HYD CYL 1 PINS HVY DUTY CROSSTUBE

Looking at this from another angle - how could I determine what the optimal cylinder length should be?

My hose fittings are all female 3/8 JIC if that matters.

Bottom line is since these cylinders are 1/2 the price of an OEM cylinder if one would work without issue it seems like a no brainer to get one. [Or comparable from any other supplier]. If on the other hand I need to stay OEM I'll just get the $270 Woods replacement.

Appreciate any guidance...

-Nick

/ Hydraulic cylinder replacement for a woods backhoe #2  
Woods parts are more reasonable than most, about a third less than Kubota for the exact same part (Woods made Kubota backhoes). I would just go with the OEM part, you know it will work fine and fit right.

/ Hydraulic cylinder replacement for a woods backhoe #3  
A longer stroke will make the bucket fold more.