rebuilding hydraulic cylinders

/ rebuilding hydraulic cylinders #1  

garry

Bronze Member
Tractor
JD 1050
I have a recently acquired JD1050 with a #80 loader and #8 backhoe. Both of the two hydraulic cylinders on the hoe that operate left and right movement leak out of the vent hole when moved to the extreme left or right. I am considering rebuilding these myself but I have no experience with rebuilding hydraulic cylinders. Is this a difficult task? Do I need any special tools? Any tips would be appreciated.

/ rebuilding hydraulic cylinders #2  
Have you looked at just replacing them with new ones? the surplus center web page has a lot of cylinders and it may be easier to just replace depending on the cost. If you figure out parts and your time to do the work it may justify buying new ones.

/ rebuilding hydraulic cylinders #3  
Garry,

I just rebuilt two cylinders on the FEL on my YM 1500. The cost was about $18 per cylinder and there was nothing complicated about it. If you'd like more info, let me know.

Bob

/ rebuilding hydraulic cylinders #4  
garry
repairing most cylinder is fairly simple as long as you have a spanner wrench to open them up. then it's just a rebuild kit with seals and orings and then reassembling. I would think most tactor dealers would be able to rebuild the cylinders at a reasonable cost if you brought the cylinders in.

/ rebuilding hydraulic cylinders
the reason I am considering rebuilding them myself is simply because I wanted to learn how. Are the spanner wrenches a stantard tool or are they specific to a brand name. After the rebuild is done are there any adjustments?

The Cylinders on my loader seem to reach their maximum extention unevenly. ie one side continues to extend after the other has reached its limit. It there an adjustment for this?

Thank you all for your input.

/ rebuilding hydraulic cylinders #6  
Garry