Power Steering on Ford 3000-Help

/ Power Steering on Ford 3000-Help #1  

ddagenhart

Tractor
Ford 3000
Hello,

This is my first time on this--this is new to me.

I recently installed a new aftermarker power steering pump on my 3000 and the steering seemed to be fine but while bushhogging and bottoming out the steering to right or left to make a hard turn it seemed to want to drag to motor. After several turns the aluminum washers blew out from the banjo bolt on the back end of the cylinder closest to the steering wheel. Seems like there must be a lot of pressure building and not able to relieve. Any suggestions what may cause the drag on the motor when turning hard? Any advise very appreciated, Im at a loss.
Thanks!

/ Power Steering on Ford 3000-Help #2  
hyd pump coupled to motor = load.. more load= more drag on motor.

blown crush washers = to much pressure, or imperfect sealing urface, or insuficient fastener torque.

is the relief valve on the pump set excessively high? or does it even have a relief?

since it's after market.. not much to go on.. can you post the info on your setup?

soundguy

/ Power Steering on Ford 3000-Help