Determining Hydraulic motor size

/ Determining Hydraulic motor size #1  

msn56

Hello:

I am new at this. I am not an engineer . I want to build a firewood processor. I read several books on hydraulics and am now trying to design it.

I have a question on calculating motor requirements . If someone could review my calculations I would sincerely appreciate it .

I want to be able to move a log 10,000# 2 feet in 10 seconds ( = 12 feet in one minute). This is where the log would be brought up so the chain saw could cut it

I want to figure out what size motor I need to do that. I am ff a model calculation in a book

The log will be moved by a motor with a 3 in sprocket hooked by chain to rollers with 3 in sprockets

1.) Horsepower Required

HP = F x L / t x 33,000 → 10,000 * 12 * 60 / 60 * 30,000 = 3.6 HP

2.) Number of sprocket turns needed to move 12 feet in 60 seconds

n = d / ∏ * diameter → 12? (3.14*3/12) = 15.2 turns

3.) RPM required to achieve 15.2 turns of the sprockets

N = n/t → 15.2 * 60 / 60 = 15.2 rpm

4.) Torque Required

HP = T1 * N1 / 5252 → T1 = 5252* 3.6 HP / 15.2 → 1243 lbft ft

First question if the motor had a smaller sprocket than the rollers than I would need more turns of the sprocket on the motor and I could reduce the torque required Correct?

5.) Torque Reduction

Ok SO now this is where I get confused in the book I am looking at there is a torque reduction N tm/ Nt → rpm motor / req rpm -

I guess I don稚 understand this
Its going to require the same force to move the log no matter what the rpm of the motor is so why does this get reduced ?

IN my instance if I chose a motor with 1000 rpm then the torque reduction would be

1000/ 15.2 → 65.7 reduction so that would be 1243/65.7 = 18.9 lbft-ft
this seems like a tremendous reduction

6.) Motor Flow rate required

assuming 2000 psi

Qm = p * Q / 1714 where p = pressure and Q = HP required

Qm = 2000 * 3.6 / 1714 = 4.2 gal / min

7.) Displacement of the motor