3rd function

/ 3rd function #1  

Alpha Dog

Tractor
Kubota L2800 DT, Kubota L275.
OK, admittedly, I'm not very good at "searching" on these forums, so if the only answer here is just to steer me in the right direction, that's great. But what I'm trying to do is add a 3rd function on my Kubota L2800 with a LA463 backhoe. I'm planning to add an "add-on type bucket grapple" at first, then eventually get a root grapple type setup. (and in the meantime, convert from a pin-on bucket to a quick attach of some type).
I've looked at several "kits" and found several threads where people installed a 3rd function for about 1/3 the price by doing it themselves. I can turn a wrench, but right now, I can write down everything I know about hydraulics on a small sticky note, using a big magic marker, and keep it legible.
My problem is that lack of knowledge. The L2800 has a "block" under the right side of the deck, with the "power beyond" (whatever that really means) hooked into a line that goes to the rear hookups for my backhoe. I seldom take the backhoe off the tractor, it's a pain, (and I really don't need to, I've got another tractor that I use with 3-pt equipment), so I don't want to "tap" into that area. I called the dealer, and they said that they can install a 3rd function for "about $1000." (I'm still not sure the young man on the phone understood I have the backhoe setup.) However, even with my "minimal" knowledge of hydraulics, a grand seemed kind of expensive for what I figured was a valve, a couple of fittings and a few short lengths of hose.
But, I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction either with new information, or some words to search for another thread on this, so my question is kind of two parts:
1. Can I still "build" a 3rd function setup for myself with the backhoe installed? (I'd prefer to build it so that I can close the grapple and tilt the bucket at the same time, but am not absolutely convinced I need to).