1982 Ford 7710 FEL Control Change

/ 1982 Ford 7710 FEL Control Change #1  

spollan

Tractor
Kubota L3400
I have a 1982 Ford 7710 with a Koyker 400 loader. The hydraulic lines to the loader are connected to the rear ports which are controlled by the two lever system in the cab. The levers are originally installed to control 3 pt equipment in the rear as the tractor was not originally plumbed for the FEL.

My question is this...has anyone changed over to a single joystick type lever for a FEL for this type of setup and if so please let me know what all was involved. Nearly all of my FEL experience is with a joystick controller and I am a pretty poor operator with the two lever system. Most FEL work is with a grapple bucket for clearing trees or dirt bucket.

Thank you.

/ 1982 Ford 7710 FEL Control Change #2  
If you want to change over from a two spool valve to a joystick valve, then all you have to do is to run pump flow to the IN port of the new valve.

Move the work ports hoses to the new valve work ports.

Connect the Out port to the return hose.

If you have another valve downstream, connect the PB using adapter to the next valve.

The new valve with PB will have at least 7 ports.

/ 1982 Ford 7710 FEL Control Change
If you want to change over from a two spool valve to a joystick valve, then all you have to do is to run pump flow to the IN port of the new valve.

If you have another valve downstream, connect the PB using adapter to the next valve.

Wow, thanks for the quick reply and instructions. I am shaking my head right now because I tried to over complicate the process.

/ 1982 Ford 7710 FEL Control Change #4  
spollan ,

Your flow path should be like this, pump, loader valve, remote valve, 3pt, tank.

Loader valve and remote valve should have PB.

As far as a grapple, you will need another valve, be it a 3ed function, Diverter valve or single lever spool valve.

or

Use one of the remote spools for the grapple.

/ 1982 Ford 7710 FEL Control Change #5