HYD Cylinder on FEL

/ HYD Cylinder on FEL #1  

flyer61

Tractor
Bolens G152 TX1502 JD2025
OK, I've got a question for all you hydraulic experts out there!

I've got a cylinder on my front end loader thats cracked and leaking. I've taken it into a hydraulic shop to see if I can order one and they told me they can't find one with the exact dimensions of mine. They said they could make one, but at a cost that's very expensive!

Here's the question, if I could find one with a bore, stroke close to this one, would it make a difference that would be unacceptable when mounted on the FEL? What I mean is should I replace both the lift cylinders or will two different cylinders work OK together as long as they are as close in dimensions as possible?

I'm thinking the two different cylinders should work alright, but I'm not an expert! Any ideas?

Thanks for any help you can offer! :)

Kevin

/ HYD Cylinder on FEL #2  
They have to match or you will bend your bucket as one side will be pushing/pulling harder than the other.
What size are they? It might be worth looking at Surplus Center for a new matched pair.

Aaron Z

/ HYD Cylinder on FEL
The bore is a common 1.5 inches and the stroke is 18.25. The rod is 1.125.

Aaron Z

Iv'e found a cylinder from Surplus Center that has a 1.5 bore and a 18 inch stroke. It also has a rod that is 1 inch. Do you think that will be close enough or should I just order two to match them up! Just trying to save some money!

Kevin

/ HYD Cylinder on FEL #4  
Surplus center has a hydraulic calculator at https://www.surpluscenter.com/techhelp.asp?catname=hydraulic
Per that, at 2000 PSI the original cylinder will have a push force of 3,534# and a pull force of 1546#. The cylinder the the 1" rod will have the same push force and a pull force of 1,963#
So, will 417# more on one side than on the other hurt anything? I don't know, it depends on how strong your bucket is.