Hydro problem with homemade log splitter

/ Hydro problem with homemade log splitter #1  

350jeepcj5

Tractor
Mix and Match
So I bought this homemade log splitter this yer and it has served me well for the most part. I have probably split about 5 cords of wood with it. When it is cold it works ok, as soon as it warms up, everything works but it s
Won't split any wood, just goes to the price of wood then stops. I have attached a link for a video that I took I it to show you guys what it is doing. I think it might be in the cylinder but I am not sure. I am a mechanic by trade but don't have a lot of experience with hydraulics.

Link to video
Wood splitter issue - YouTube

Thanks in advance!
Don

/ Hydro problem with homemade log splitter #2  
Have you changed the filter and checked the oil to see if that is any good? When it is cold does it punch through pieces of the size used on the video? That shouldn't have even slowed it down hardly.

/ Hydro problem with homemade log splitter
Oil looks like it has some metal in it, I have not changed the filter. When it is cold, it seems to work fine, but not as good as the day I got it...

/ Hydro problem with homemade log splitter #4  
How new or old were the parts that went into building the log splitter.

If all the parts were new, then there is probably a defect in some of the parts.

If it was built out of old parts, then things might be well beyond worn.

Have you checked out the hyd pressure with a 3000 psi hyd gage?

If the pump is good, and the valve is good, then the fluid is going to the cyl, and should extend or retract.

If cyl does not extend, the fluid is bypassing around the seals or through the piston rod hole. The nut may have come off.

Put a gage in the log splitter and check some pressures, and let us know what you read on the gage in various modes.

For instance, extend the cyl and hold the lever. The relief should activate, and the motor bog down.