Hydraulic tank/reservoir cap

/ Hydraulic tank/reservoir cap #1  

tirebiter

Tractor
Case 400
I'm a newbie at this. Bought an old (1948), very used CASE 400 diesel tractor to mow a couple of small fileds and help with snow removal here in Southeastern New England. Is it normal that when the hydraulic tank/reservoir cap is loose, the hydraulics all get really weak and slow ? I have to tighten the screw-on cap (Pipe thread) with a stillson wrench to get the hyrdraulics to work at what seems normal speed. When I loosen the cap, there is a lot of pressure that takes several minutes to bleed off. After the pressure is equalized the hydraulics are very slow again and generally speaking, work very poorly. I think the front-end loader and three-point-hitch hydraulics may have been an add-on when it was new. I'm not getting very far looking online for info about this tractor and thought maybe someone here could help fill me in on some. Thanks for any help any of you may have.

/ Hydraulic tank/reservoir cap #2  
In general, there should be no reason to pressurize the hyd tank.

It must also have a vent to let heat escape.

Your pump and the resistance to the pumped fluid is what generates pressure.

If the pressure is weaker that original, then it is from wear, faulty relief valves or weak seals on the cyl.

Cold fluids tend to have better compression,and warm/hot fluids flow more readily, and will pass through imperfections, resulting with less pressure.

/ Hydraulic tank/reservoir cap #3  
See if there is a screen in the tank or a filter on your intake line. If so clean or replace.

/ Hydraulic tank/reservoir cap #4  
Pressurized reservoirs are sometimes used to prevent pump cavitation. I don't know anything about Case tractors, but I've never heard of a pressurized reservoir in a tractor.

ISZ

/ Hydraulic tank/reservoir cap #5  
You are my kind of man: 1948 Case and still call a pipe wrench a "Stillson Wrench", named after the fellow who invented it in the mid-1800's.