Hydraulic Motor Help

/ Hydraulic Motor Help #1  

kruszert

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kioti DK 35
I am new to hydraulic motors and know little about them other than what I have picked up from reading past posts on this forum so please excuse some dumb questions.

To give some background - - I have a 6" Jinma chipper. The chipper works well for my needs but the feed system does not. I made a new feed drum that actually grabs the branches, then snapped in the shaft in the drum (cold rolled steel), replaced the shaft (better steel), then snapped the drive shaft to the drum, replaced with the newer design from Jinma (works well), now bent the output shaft from the right angle gearbox! I would have thought the A section v-belt would have been the weak link in this system but the belt has held up perfectly without slipping. I looked at heavier duty gearboxes but they get too big and would require a bunch of modifications.

Fancy chippers (read that as expensive chippers that I can't afford) use hydraulic feed systems so - - I would like to replace the feed drive with a hydraulic motor run off the hydraulic system on my tractor. I have no idea if this is practical but am just investigating.

The tractor is a Kioti DK-35. Hydraulic output is 12.5 gpm, 2300 psi I assume at 2400 engine rpm. I usually run at a little slower RPM say around 2000.

I need very low rpm for the feed drum. The gear reduction takes it down to 28 rpm at 2400 engine rpm.
If possible I would like to be able to vary the speed with a max of 28 rpm down to maybe 12 rpm for when I feed in larger branches like 6".

I have looked at hydraulic motors on different websites (Suplus Center, Baileys, etc). Seems like they have more than enough torque, require pump volume well within my tractor's capability, are small and easily adaptable to what I need but have way too much output speed with 12.5 gpm flow.