Hydraulic motor sizing/performance question

/ Hydraulic motor sizing/performance question #1  

Jay4200

Veteran Member
Tractor
L4200GST w/ LA680 & BX2200D w/ LA211
I have no idea what the sizing spec of a hydraulic motor means, so please bear with me.

I want to use a hydraulic motor to rotate the chute on my snowblower. The cheapest high-torque / low-speed hydraulic motor I can find ($80) is a 2.5cu-in motor rated at 1115 RPM at 12GPM (2250psi). My tractor's hydraulics (BX2200) are somewhere in the 5.5-6 GPM range, and probably in the ballpark of 2000psi. If I hook up this motor to a 5.5 GPM source, will it turn at ~500RPM? What is the cu-in rating used for?

If anybody can point me to a site that explains the calculations for specifying a hydraulic motor, please do. I'm an electrical engineer, so the more technical the better. Thanks!

/ Hydraulic motor sizing/performance question #2  
Flow = Speed.

Size of the motor and pressure determine the rotating torque.

The 2.5 cu in rating is how many cu in of fluid it takes to make 1 revolution.

So... 5.5gpm in. There are 231CI in each gallon of fluid. So you would be passing 1270 CI of fluid per minute through it. 1270/2.5 = 508RPM theoretical. That is not counting for efficency loss and assuming you actually will be getting 5.5GPM to the motor.

The way it is rated now, 1115rpm and 2.5 ci @12gpm....

12gpm is 2772 CI.
2772/2.5 = 1108RPM. So their rating is right on (+/- a little).

/ Hydraulic motor sizing/performance question #3  
So, JAY, if you want low speed, then you need a large displacement motor, which can be several
times the cost of a low disp motor.

Or, you can use a cheaper motor and use sprockets & chains, or gears to slow things down.

Or, you can use a cylinder and leverage to rotate your shute, since you do not need full rotation.
At least one TBN member has done this, I can not remember who. In this case, a larger