Log Splitter Hangs Up Beore Splitting with video

/ Log Splitter Hangs Up Beore Splitting with video #1  

Rford

Gold Member
Tractor
1966 Ford 2000 Diesel 8sp
http://youtu.be/O4O8f_MwfB0

My log splitter (used but new to me) is acting just like this one on You Tube. MTD 25 Ton. I posted this over on the "built it" forum with more information and although I've had a 100 lookers no one's responded with any ideas. Bottom line, is this normal log splitter operation or is something wrong? I can guess that its the pump, the valve, filter, etc., but I'm no expert so I'm looking for someone who is. I've changed the filter, its fuel of oil, engine runs fine, and the ram works perfect under no load situations and splits small rounds without much hesitation. If there is a way to test the pump with a gauge, where, exactly, does one hook it up and what does one look for? I've done some pretty extensive web searches and found some pretty generic statements but nothing that's really helped so far. And maybe this is perfectly normal for a low end splitter.

Thanks in advance.

/ Log Splitter Hangs Up Beore Splitting with video #2  
To check the log splitter valve relief pressure, you need a 3000 psi hyd gauge and a tee in the IN port of the log splitter valve.

Then fully extend the cyl until you read the highest pressure the pump can provide.

However, you could have worn cyl seals, leaking spool valve, wrong fluid, bad filter, etc.

Last edited:
   / Log Splitter Hangs Up Beore Splitting with video